Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

HCAC releases Christopher M. Ragsdale Sportsmanship Team

HCAC releases Christopher M. Ragsdale Sportsmanship Team

CARMEL, Ind. – The Heartland Collegiate Athletic Conference (HCAC) announced the Christopher M. Ragsdale Sportsmanship teams for the Fall 2019 season.

This is the 10-year anniversary of the HCAC All-Sportsmanship Award, named in honor of former HCAC Commissioner, Christopher M. Ragsdale who served as the Commissioner from 2009 to 2018. In its inaugural season, the All-Sportsmanship team was recognized following each sports season, and the league has returned to this practice of honoring athletes outside of the conference championship season to elevate the focus placed on these deserving individuals.

The sportsmanship award was developed as part of a conference-wide sportsmanship initiative in 2009. Members of the All-HCAC Sportsmanship team are selected by the coaches and their teammates as individuals who demonstrate the ideals of positive sportsmanship both on and off the field/court of competition. Nominees must have demonstrated consistently the values of respect, and integrity in his or her daily participation in intercollegiate athletics.

Selections will also be made at the end of the winter and spring seasons.

For more information on all thing HCAC, visit the websites of any of the participating schools, or go to the HCAC's home on the internet at Be sure to stay up to date on all of your Heartland Collegiate Athletic Conference news by following @HCACDIII on Twitter and by liking the "HCAC DIII" Facebook page.

The following Bluffton University athletes were recognized following the 2019 fall season:

Women's Golf - Elizabeth Rockwell

Women's Cross Country - Tami Groff

Men's Cross Country - Max Chandler

Women's Soccer - Aubrey Bartel

Men's Soccer - Tanner Newport

Volleyball - Danielle Ray

Football - Dylan Burkholder


Release courtesy of the Heartland Conference